Building Department Staff

bg

 

The Development Services Department is made up of two branches: Building and Planning.

Building

(705) 538-2337 / 1-800-567-0187
Fax - (705) 538-1850
General Inquiries - x. 6 / building@gbtownship.ca
 
Nicholas Popovich - Director of Development Services
npopovich@gbtownship.ca
x. 232
 
Dave Fedoriw, Chief Building Official
dfedoriw@gbtownship.ca
x. 240

Doug Hupponen, Building and Septic Inspector
dhupponen@gbtownship.ca
x. 245

Caely Nicholson, Building and Septic Inspector
cnicholson@gbtownship.ca
x. 241

Kim Allen, Building and Septic Inspector
kallen@gbtownship.ca
x. 265

Jenn Albert, Technical Assistant
jalbert@gbtownship.ca 
x. 233

The Province of Ontario, through the Ontario Building Code Act and the Ontario Building Code, is responsible for the development of building regulations.  These documents outline specific regulations and requirements that are to be adhered to from the submission of an application, the plan review and inspections.  The purpose of the Code is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public and building occupants.  Each municipality is then responsible for the review, inspections and enforcement of the Code as laid out by the Province of Ontario for their specific area.

The Building Department also ensures that new construction is carried out with properly issued building permits and that all new construction meets the minimum standards of the Ontario Building Code Act and regulations.  Building staff is responsible for the inspection of all new construction within the borders of the Township of Georgian Bay. Staff performs special investigations of illegal construction and unsafe buildings.

Departmental Functions:

  • Enforcement of Ontario Building Code (including Fire Protection, Occupant Safety, Accessibility, Structural Design, Environmental Separation, Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning, Plumbing, Sewage Systems, Housing and Small Buildings, Change of Use, Renovations, Resource Conservation)
  • Enforcement of the Ontario Building Code Act
  • Review and administration of Building Applications
  • Building By-law and building, heating, plumbing and demolition permits
  • Part VIII Sewage Disposal Systems
  • Septic Re-inspection Program
  • Legal Inquiries
  • Building Permit Issuance and Inspections performed by qualified Building Officials
  • Answer questions / comments to applicants, agencies and the general public

Organizational Chart:

 

Development Services <a target="_blank" href="/admin/structure/block/manage/block/12/configure">edit</a>